

## Department of Surgery

# ACADEMIC YEAR END

## CELEBRATION!

May 29th 2017

The Arbutus Club
2001 Nanton Avenue
Vancouver, BC





#### A Message from the Head, Department of Surgery

The end of the academic year provides an opportunity to reflect on the events and accomplishments in the Department of Surgery over the past 12 months and to look forward to the future with anticipation. Our Department has a long history of excellence in surgical care, education and scholarship and the residents, fellows and graduate students who are completing their training will become the next generation of leaders in academic and clinical surgery and medical science.

The real strength of the Department of Surgery is its people. Our faculty members represent a truly impressive depth and breadth of clinical excellence as well as research and administrative leadership. They share a uniform enthusiasm in supporting our central mission, which is educating the future leaders of Canadian surgery and actively embracing their roles as mentors and role models for our trainees.

The part of my job as Department Head that I enjoy the most is meeting with, learning from, and being inspired by my surgical and scientific colleagues, our residents, fellows and students and our staff. To each and every one of you I would like to say a sincere and heartfelt thank you!

GARY REDEKOP, MD, FRCSC Head, Department of Surgery





## Department of Surgery 2017 Graduating Residents

### **General Surgery**

Atif Jastaniah
Gurp Johal
Shahrzad Joharifard
Cecily Jonker
Mohammadali (Sohrab Khorasani)
Sepehr Khorasani
Farhana Shariff
Alison Wallace
Chris Zrobacki

#### **Neurosurgery**

Danny Mendelsohn

#### **Otolaryngology**

**Brent Chang** 

### **Pediatric Surgery**

Abdullah Alshehri

#### Plastic Surgery

Aaron Knox Morgan Evans

#### **Radiation Oncology**

Benjamin Maas

#### **Colorectal Surgery**

Francois LeTarte



## 2016 - 2017, PhD/MSc Graduates

#### **PhD**

Sylvia Cheung
Jaques Courtade
James Jabalee
James Lawson
Hanadi Qashqari
Kevin Tam
Eric Xu
Sanam Salimi

MSc Michael Bleszynski Kristin DeGirolamo



## **Graduating Clinical Fellows**

Reagan Maniar Colorectal Surgery

Navneet Singh Pediatric Neurosurgery

Adi Salistyanto Neurosurgery

Fahad Alasousi Otolaryngology

Abhijit Pal Otolaryngology

Jaime Viera Artiles Otolaryngology

Ronak Rahamanian Otolaryngology

Salahuddin Al-Shalihi Otolaryngology

Warren Mullings Otolaryngology

Thomas Chalela Pediatric Cardiovascular Surgery

Veronique St. Supery Plastics

Jessica Robb Plastics

May Tee HPB

Stephanie Chartier-Plante HPB

Vy Nguyen MIS





## Department of Surgery (recognized in 2016)

## LONG-SERVICE AWARDS

Category	Title	First Name	Last Name	Milestone
Faculty	Dr.	J. Andrew	Bartlett	25
Faculty	Dr.	Douglas J.	Courtemanche	25
Faculty	Dr.	Robert	Irvine	25
Faculty	Dr.	Douglas J.	Kibblewhite	25
Faculty	Dr.	Kim-Sing	Charmaine	25
Faculty	Dr.	Neil S.	Longridge	38
Faculty	Dr.	Peter A.	MacKay	35
Faculty	Dr.	Alexander G.	Nagy	35
Faculty	Dr.	Andrew	Seal	35
Faculty	Dr.	Robert P.	Thompson	35
Faculty	Dr.	Lorna	Weir	25
Faculty	Dr.	Jeremy D.	Woodham	35



## 2017 Award Presentations

## **Post Graduate Teaching Awards**

A.D. Forward Post Graduate Teaching Award

Best Resident Teaching Award

A.D. McKenzie Clinical Teaching Award

A.W.D. Bill Knox Award

I.B. Holubitsky Memorial Award

H. Rocke Robertson Award

C. H. Scudamore HPB Award

Congratulations to all Award Winners!

The winners will be posted on the departmental website at www.surgery.ubc.ca





## **Program**

## **QUILCHENA TERRACE**

6:00	Reception/Cocktails
------	---------------------

- 6:30 Graduation Ceremony
- 6:45 Awards Presentation
- 7:15 Comments from Graduating Resident Aaron Knox

#### STRATHCONA ROOM

7:30 Dinner

Dinner Remarks by Dr. Morad Hameed

