

Department of Surgery

ACADEMIC YEAR END

CELEBRATION

May 21, 2015

The Arbutus Club 2001 Nanton Avenue Vancouver, BC



A Message from the Head, Department of Surgery

The UBC Department of Surgery has a long history of training its graduates to become leaders in clinical and academic surgery, and to prepare them to create the scientific advances that translate new knowledge into actions that benefit patients and populations.

To provide the best educational opportunities for our trainees, we place our primary focus on superb patient care. In addition, our trainees have unparalleled clinical and basic science research opportunities, spanning the range of clinical, translational and outcomes projects. There are innovative programs that deal with cost-effective care, best pathways, outcomes research and patient safety.

The real strength of the Department of Surgery is its people. Our faculty members represent a truly impressive depth and breadth of clinical excellence as well as research and administrative leadership. They share a uniform enthusiasm in supporting our central mission, which is educating the future leaders of Canadian surgery, and actively embrace their roles as mentors and role models for our trainees.

We continuously work to enhance the experience of each of our trainees and to improve the framework and atmosphere in which they train. I believe that UBC provides an unparalleled environment for training in clinical surgery and surgical scholarship. As we meet to celebrate at the end of the academic year I would like to take this opportunity to recognize the contribution and support of all of our faculty and staff, and to congratulate the graduates of our training programs. As you move on to the next phase of your life, we look forward to having you as clinical and academic colleagues!

> GARY REDEKOP, MD, FRCSC Head, Department of Surgery



Department of Surgery 2015 Graduating Residents

Cardiac Surgery

Ala Hassan Al-Lawati

General Surgery

Lisa Aird Nori Bradley Stephanie Chartier-Plante Deb Davis Yasmin Halwani Kristel Lobo Prabhu Ben Matthew Joey Ojah Ekua Yorke

Neurosurgery

Ahmad Bader Albert Tu

Otolaryngology

Andrew Thamboo Kristelle Cheung Rui Jun Lin

Plastic Surgery

Adelyn Ho Sheena Sikora

Radiation Oncology

Michael Peacock Sarah Lucas Shilo Lefresne

Vascular Surgery

Steven Johnson Virginia Gunn



2014 - 2015, PhD/MSc Graduates

PhD

Dr. Yoo Jin Park Dr. Yun Zhang Dr. Ryan Hartwell

MSc

Dr. Alreem Al Hinai Dr. Alghalya Al Maawali Dr. Omamah Almousa Dr. Safiya Al Masrouri Dr. Perry Gdalevitch Dr. Alexis Zi Le Shi Dr. Annika C. Sun

Graduating Clinical Fellows

<u>General Surgery</u> Dr. Abdulrahman Al Balla Dr. Amber Menezes Dr. Ryan McColl Dr. Geoffrey Chow

Otolaryngology

Dr. Andres Finklestein Kulka Dr. Bassem Hanna Dr. Tamara Mijovic Dr. Roy Reuven Hod Dr. Callum Faris Dr. Luis Fernando Macias

> <u>Pediatric Surgery</u> Dr. Phyllis Kisa

<u>Pediatric Neurosurgery</u> Dr. Christophe Bonfield

<u>Pediatric Plastic Surgery</u> Dr. Eleonore Breuning Dr. Way Yee Li

<u>Plastic Surgery</u> Dr. Justin Chatterjee Dr. Jordan Haythornthwaite

Radiation Oncology

Dr. Gareth Ayre Dr. Thomas Rackley Dr. Stree Rodda Dr. Jasbir Jaswal Dr. Alex De Caluwe



RETIREES

Name	Division	Rank	UBC Years of Service	
Dr. Alexander Nagy	General Surgery	Clinical Professor	33	
Dr. John Hay	Radiation Oncology	Clinical Professor	28	

LONG-SERVICE AWARDS

Category	Title	Last Name	First Name	Dept/School	Year Recognized	Milestone
Faculty	Dr.	Davis	Noelle L.	Department of Surgery	2014	25
Faculty	Dr.	Finley	Richard John	Department of Surgery	2014	25
Faculty	Dr.	Hsiang	York	Department of Surgery	2014	25
Faculty	Dr.	Qayumi	Abdul Karim	Department of Surgery	2014	25
Faculty	Dr.	Simpson	William T.	Department of Surgery	2014	25
Faculty	Dr.	Steinbok	Paul	Department of Surgery	2014	35
Faculty	Dr.	Van Laeken	Nancy	Department of Surgery	2014	25
Staff	Ms.	Sahota	Balvinder	Department of Surgery	2014	25



Postgraduate Teaching Awards

AD Forward Postgraduate Teaching Award Dr. Charles Haw

> Best Resident Teaching Award Dr. Andrew Thamboo

A.D. McKenzie Clinical Teaching Award Dr. Nadine Caron

> A.W.D. Bill Knox Award Dr. Sheena Sikora

I.B. Holubitsky Memorial Award Dr. Andrew Thamboo

H. Rocke Robertson Award Dr. Paris Ingledew

C. H. Scudamore HPB Award Dr. Stephanie Chartier-Plante

Congratulations to all Award Winners!



Program

Quilchena Terrace

- 5:00 Reception/Cocktails
- 6:00 Graduation Ceremony
- 6:45 Awards Presentation

The Strathcona Room

7:30 Dinner

After dinner remarks – Dr. Geoffrey Blair