# ACADEMIC YEAR-END CELEBRATION 2023

# June 20 6:00 pm - 9:30 pm

JACK POOLE HALL,
ROBERT LEE ALUMNI CENTRE
6163 University Blvd





Join us in recognizing graduating residents and students in the Master of Science in Surgery and Master of Global Surgical Care programs as well as Department of Surgery award winners.

# 6:00 PM Guest arrival and cocktails

**Schedule** 

6:45 PM Graduation and awards ceremony

7:30 PM Dinner
8:30 PM Closing remarks

8:30 PM Closing remarks

# Message from the Head



As another academic year concludes, I am filled with pride and gratitude for our Department of Surgery's remarkable achievements and unwavering commitment. Our surgeons have been providing exceptional patient care, demonstrating skill, compassion, and dedication. The countless lives touched reflect our pursuit of excellence.

Our educational programs thrive, with residents exhibiting exceptional growth and professionalism. Congratulations to the graduating surgical residents; your hard work and commitment to learning are recognized. You will continue making significant contributions to surgery.

We bid farewell to our graduates and warmly welcome incoming trainees. Your fresh perspectives and thirst for knowledge invigorate our educational environment. We are thrilled to have you and look forward to guiding your professional development.

Gratitude extends to our research community for ground-breaking discoveries. Our department is at the forefront of clinical, translational, and foundational research, driving progress and innovation to improve patient outcomes. Your dedication to scientific excellence is commendable.

None of this would be possible without our dedicated faculty and staff. Your commitment, leadership, mentorship, and expertise shape our department's future. We foster a nurturing, collaborative environment that encourages innovation and excellence. Appreciation goes to each of you for your exceptional contributions.

Let us celebrate the excellence, dedication, and unwavering commitment that define our Department of Surgery. We have built a legacy of outstanding care, education, and research for generations to come. Thank you for your remarkable contributions, and here's to another year of collaboration and achievement.

Hy Ruly

**Dr. Gary Redekop, MD, FRCSC** Head, Department of Surgery C.N. Woodward Chair

# **MSc in Surgery and MSCG Graduates**



# **Master of Science in Surgery**

Program Director: Dr. Alice Mui

Dr. Cristina Schaurich

# **Master of Global Surgical Care**

Program Director: Dr. Brian Westerberg

Dr. Esther Chin

**Dr. Lexington Anne Kinnear** 

Dr. Karina Olivo

**Dr. Godfrey Philipo** 

Dr. Joshua Paul Wiedermann

Dr. May Yau

Dr. Montana Zaporzan

# **Graduating Residents**

#### **Cardiac Surgery**

Program Director: Dr. Paul Bui

Dr. Catherine Gauthier

Dr. Edward Percy

#### **General Surgery**

Program Co-directors: Drs. Ahmer Karimuddin and Tracy Scott

Dr. Nicole Kloos

Dr. Marina Parapini

Dr. Quinn Parker

Dr. Katelynn Tang

Dr. Kadhim Taqi

#### **Neurosurgery**

Program Director: Dr. Ash Singhal

Dr. Stephano Chang

Dr. Michael Craig

#### Otolaryngology – Head & Neck Surgery

Program Director: Dr. Fred Kozak

Dr. Emily Deane

# **Graduating Residents**



#### **Pediatric Surgery**

Program Director: Dr. Robert Baird

Dr. Alreem Al Hinai

#### **Plastic Surgery**

Program Director: Dr. Alex Seal

Dr. Peter Mankowski

Dr. Zach Zhang

#### **Radiation Oncology**

Program Director: Dr. Michael Peacock

Dr. Sit Daegan

Dr. Timothy Kong

#### **Surgical Oncology**

Program Director: Dr. Trevor Hamilton

Dr. Stephanie Marcil

#### **Thoracic Surgery**

Program Director: Dr. James Bond

Dr. Emily Mackay

#### **Vascular Surgery**

Program Director: Dr. Jon Misskey

Dr. Abdalla Butt

# **Graduating Clinical Fellows**

#### **General Surgery**

Dr. Sager Alderaan

Dr. Jenna Kroeker

Dr. Barak Raguan Schneidman

Dr. Alexandre Tran

Dr. Anas Wess

#### **Neurosurgery**

Dr. Maryam Alotaibi

Dr. Kevin Paul Ferraris

Dr. Phoebe Matthews

#### Otolaryngology - Head & Neck Surgery

Dr. Maria Chemas-Velez

Dr. Dakshika Gunaratne

Dr. Juan Carlos Hernaiz Leonardo

Dr. Jason Powell

Dr. Cristian Setz

Dr. Amjad Tobia

Dr. Sena Turkdogan

# **Graduating Clinical Fellows**



#### **Plastic Surgery**

Dr. Julie Beveridge

Dr. Ke Nan Huang

Dr. Jenifer Redwood

#### **Radiation Oncology**

Dr. Felipe Castro Canovas

Dr. Lim Ella Mae Cruz

Dr. Wei Liu

Dr. Das Subhadip

#### **Thoracic Surgery**

Dr. Mohammad Diab

### Retirees

**Dr. Glenn Regher** General Surgery

Dr. Peter MacKay

Otolaryngology & Head & Neck

Surgery

**Dr. Geoff Blair** Pediatric Surgery

**Dr. Paul Blood** Radiation Oncology

**Dr. Anthony Salvian** Vascular Surgery

**Dr. Peter Kuechler** Vascular Surgery

# **Department of Surgery Awards**

Dr. A.W.D. Bill Knox Memorial Award

Dr. I.B. Holubitsky Memorial Award

Best Resident Teacher Award

Dr. Garth Warnock Postgraduate Trainee Award

Dr. A.D. Forward Postgraduate Faculty Teaching Award

Dr. A.D. McKenzie Clinical Teaching Award

Dr. H.R. Robertson Award for Faculty